dyeing over the weekend

14 07 2009

A couple of perfectly decent tees were irreparably harmed in the making of this post.

After my grocery run this weekend, I ended up strolling into the craft store adjacent to it. Well, what follows will just have to be blamed on the possible spiking of stuff at the sample counter of my local Trader Joe’s. :)

Obviously, one goes into such things with a certain sense of quiet assurance and confidence in one’s abilities. There were some minor doubts, but they were promptly shattered by “educating” oneself via YouTube. Then one embarked on the tying, twisting, sewing (oh yes, one of those Tees actually has shibori work on it :) ).

The dyeing itself was miraculously painless. But now that the Tees are ready to go – I wonder where one would actually wear them? :)

tie1

tie2jpg

tie3

tie4

This last picture is of a kid’s shirt – a birthday gift for a 3 year old. Well, the rather quiet, contemplative toddler will have to learn to embrace his inner grooviness at some point, doesn’t he?

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 07 2009
??!

You could always send them over to KM….

14 07 2009
Space Bar

I *lurrrve* the first spiral. Sigh…so long since I did tie-dye. much nostalgia.

14 07 2009
Falstaff

Like SB, it’s been so long since I did tie-dye

Unlike her, I’m not remotely nostalgic about the experience. This may be because somehow the knowledge that all these funky designs were basically random patterns created by a mechanical process took most of the magic out of it. Or it may be because I was always bad at knots.

14 07 2009
blackmamba

??!: true true..

SB: yes, it has been a long time. I will date myself if I tell you when I did it last…

the first spiral was something YT inspired in my sibling.

Falsie: well, well. mechanical processes rock.

but, the patterns and color schemes in tie-dye are definitely not random – unless you choose it to be / are new to medium (as evidenced in most cases).

Besides a lot of different techniques can result in randomness, unless one has the ability to get the results one aims for… :)

15 07 2009
Banno

I NEVER tied-dyed. But always loved the groovy results. I’d happily wear the T-shirt made for the 3 year old. If it fit me. Sigh.

15 07 2009
tabula rasa

just saunter over to telegraph and bask in the love.

16 07 2009
blackmamba

SB, Banno: glad you liked them! :)

TR: ha ha… might not be a bad idea. a warm weekend up ahead.

17 07 2009
km

So are you also reading the Whole Earth Catalog, buying patchouli by the gallon and listening to Dick’s Picks 8? :))

//But I can imagine Falstaff tie-dying, getting disillusioned by the mechanical process and sitting down angrily, to compose a little etude.

Leave a Reply

