Angkor Wat?

11 09 2007

You know, there are times when you spend days coming up with the right words and the percise flow of ideas*. You structure your arguments so they make most sense. Cover every possible nuance. Because this person is bound to ask you the question, you have to be prepared.

Except, the question never gets asked.

What do you do with that neatly planned, well rehearsed piece that keeps ringing in your head whenever you are alone? How do you make it go away?

* Please don’t tell me you do this all the time. It is not normal. Seriously.

Actions

Information

6 responses

11 09 2007
tabula rasa

What do you do with that neatly planned, well rehearsed piece that keeps ringing in your head whenever you are alone?

blog it.

11 09 2007
Anoop

I practice my talks sometimes while showering or driving. But I also give enough talks that I get to put my practice talks to use. So my answer is: if they don’t ask, tell them anyway. :)

11 09 2007
Veena

Anoop: Don’t lie now. We all know you write down all these ideas in diary. Remember that incriminatory diary that was lying around in my living room for the longest time?

BM: But I agree with Anoop. Tell them anyway. Or tell someone else.

11 09 2007
blackmamba

all:

now my truth is of no consequence
for time is a forgetful mistress

:(

TR: yes, I am the pintsize of my clique. :)

11 09 2007
falstaff

Wait – so you thought person was going to ask you a question and he / she didn’t and all you can think of us is your answer? Me, I would be spending all my time worrying about why that question didn’t get asked and what it means.

Never cling to an old obsession when you have a new one.

12 09 2007
blackmamba

falstaff:

What you would do is sane. Who needs sanity, when you can revel in insanity?

The whole point of an examined life is to sweat the small things, so you never end up seeing the big picture. That way you never have to obsess about the real issues.

But, yeah. Neither asked me the question. Hell, I haven’t met them in ages. And I don’t even want to start thinking about what that means.

Leave a Reply

